Question about Britax Marathonn Buckle

B

Brendan's Mommy

Hello to all!

This is my first post. I am a proud owner of 2 Britax Marathons! They're fresh out of the box! YAY! Even prouder, I am the mother of a beautiful 4 month old boy.

Whoever thought I'd be in a carseat forum? Not me, never in a million years! But hey, when we become mommies, things change! Now I am proud to say that I am a member in a carseat forum.

I was reading reviews on Target, Amazon, and Babies R Us and I found that many parents were complaining about the crotch strap/buckle being to short/too small. Some also said that the carseat was terrible. I disagree with that though, this is my first time with the Marathon, but I remember being at Target before I had my son and passing the carseat aisle, thinking, "That's a really nice looking carseat, I want that if and when I ever have kids!" Well, the if and when finally happened! DS was born November 24, 2008!

Anyways...

I sat my son in the carseat and I didn't have a problem buckling him in. I currently have a Graco Infant Safe Seat in French Roast. I love the thing I get so many compliments, but I don't think it's as comfy as the Marathon. I buckled him into the Marathon in my living room and he literally sat in it for 30-45 minutes perfectly content. I was thinking Wow! This thing is great!

Ok, sorry got off topic there. So, my son who is 4 months old is a big boy. He's 17lbs and 27inches, nowhere near what the Marathon can hold. So obviously I woldn't have a problem with the strap being too short.

Does anyone else have a Marathon with a larger child? I am wondering if the reviews that were left are valid or if it is user misuse.

Please let me know. I just took them out of the box, so I could return them, if it's really true. And if it is, could you recommend another carseat to me?

Thanks in advance!

ADS

joolsplus3

Admin - CPS Technician