Flying w/ 5yo, GN, CARES, ?

ffpmcps

Hi all. We are going to by flying in May with our 2yo, and 5yo. I am trying to figure out what I want to do for our 5yo. I did a search and found some info, but still can't decide. She is 41lb, not sure on height, but she is almost at the second slots from the top on her GN and very leggy.

My concern with the GN on the plane is that it will be really tight for her with leg room. We are flying SW if it matters. Does anyone have any pics of older kids in a GN on a plane?

I thought about using a CARES, she should still be within the weight limit for that at the time. I would then gate check her GN, hopefully that would limit the chance of damage. However, we really don't fly much and I really can't afford to buy a CARES, so I have been trying to find somehwere that I could borrow one. I have never used the cares before, what are your thoughts on them for older children.

Lastly, I saw that you can rent cares on Ebay for like $13 plus shipping. They assure that they are in good condition. Anyone know anyone that has done this?

Sorry for all the rambling, just can't decide :)

TIA

Andrea

ADS

mylittlet

Senior Community Member
Not a flier, but I would not even gate check a seat. So I would use it on the plane. Someone on here has photos of it on a plane with a kid in it. If you search naut and plane you will probably find them. Just my 2 cents.

mommaon112903