Anyone live in a state where buses have seat belts?

AtTheSouthDam

I was reading the paper today and noticed that we have a bill going through that requires seat belts on all buses purchased after July 2010 (This is in Colorado). It has already passed the house (or senate, I was never good at politics) and is waiting on the other. It looks like it may go through.

So I was wondering how other states deal with the tiny kids in school buses with seat belts. Do they worry about submarining? Could the seat belt cause more damage then the "compartments" they say keep them safe?

I am not worried about DD2 she will be nearing 60 lbs and over 48" by the time it goes into effect. But my little one will only be 37 lbs, if she stays one her growth curve, when she starts kindergarten so I was curious how others have dealt with it or if they have more info.

ADS

mygirlkat74

The one thing I worry about with car seats on school buses since I was a Bus driver before I had my two kids. Was in case of a fire or crash, you have to get the kids off the bus in under 4 minutes. And, most buses carry 60+ kids on there, there is no way they could get the belts off in time. ESP. Because most kids will panic. Plus, I have heard of incidents where seat belts on buses was used as weapons and to hit other kids.

We didn't have them on the regular buses but had them on the special needs, but the special needs kids do need them, and usually all special needs buses has a monitor on there to help the kids with the seat belts. I was a monitor for two years then a driver for two years.

zactayaus