Frustrated by # of boosterless first graders

(posted this on the BBC Car Safety board, apologies for the duplication)
I was a driver for my 7YO twin first-grader DDs' field trip yesterday and was dismayed to see that several kids in each of their classes were no longer using boosters and some of the booster-less boys were teasing the boys who were still using boosters :(

We're in CA so I'm guessing that these parents figure they're complying with the "6 years or 60 lbs. minimum" without realizing that their kids are still too small to get a good fit without a booster. I'd like to ask the teachers if I can include a handout in the weekly folder or e-newsletter that includes the 5-step test and safety reasons for keeping their kids in boosters longer and wondered if anyone has some good links/references.

Thanks!

ADS

murphydog77

Admin - CPST Instructor
Staff member
Hi E! Glad to see you over here :).

I can handle kids being w/o boosters--there will always be some. It's the teasing that bothers me because you know the attitudes of the parents at home, "Oh, I'm so glad you don't have to sit in your *baby* seat anymore."

MomToEliEm

I tried to have the nurse at my child's kindergarten school pass out fliers about boosters, yet she refused (not sure of her reason though). It really is frustrating to see so many kids not in boosters, but the laws in my state are horrible (when my kids were 3 years old, they could have been in just a regular seatbelt since they were over 36"). Until the laws actually change, I doubt I will see a change in what kids are riding in.

Try asking the school nurse if she might hand out any information. She probably won't do it, but she just might.

BookMama

Senior Community Member
:happy-wavehello: Nice to see you over here! Hope you stick around.