Frontier Recall really? Can't I just return the shoddy thing?!

marciemp

I have not been here for quite a while and this is my first time seeing the recall for the Frontier. My oldest rides in a Frontier and I am sure there have been many times that we loosen one strap at a time. I did mail in my registration card right after buying the seat, which was the first week they were released here, end of June early July 08. I have not checked our mail for a week or so, but we did not receive any info about the recall before then.

This is my first time buying a Britax and I am very annoyed. Not so much just by the recall but by many things. We bought this seat because the brand name is supposed to be excellent. The fabric on the seat is so frayed and disgusting, it has never been washed and according to the manufacturer never can be, it was very hard to install, and now they are telling me that I have to uninstall it every time to make sure it is safe and one strap has not fallen off which could cause death, or I have to make sure to pull both straps together, even for a short while before the fix, this would be a huge ordeal, I drive her multiple trips daily. What if she pulls them, what if one of my parents or my husband helps her in without thinking about it? My husband is not very good with is hands, or with having to do things an exact way and he would probably not be able to do it correctly. It is also hard to buckle as the buckles go so far down into the seat behind dd's bum, and if I dig them out the straps bunch or twist.

Why should I spend $300 on a carseat, only to have them send me a cheap fix, and live with shoddy fabric? Is there anyway to return the seat or deal with the seat fabric?