CHP told me Britax is safest seat/but which Britax is the safest?

fairytalelover

I just got back from my appointment with the CHP. My husband had installed our child seat in our car but I had a feeling it wasnt done properly because it seemed to move too much plus my son has been getting bigger so I wanted to have the CHP adjust the seat belts on him etc...

So anyway, he said that the Graco Safe Seat that we had was the best infant seat to buy in his experience with child seats and when he outgrows it the Britax seats are the best seats over all the rest in terms of safety and ease for installment.

He was a really nice guy. When I asked him what he reccomended for when Nicholas grows out of his infant seat. He said,

"Well as a CHP officer my official answer that we are supposed to tell you is that you should get a seat that fits your car the best. But my non official answer with my experience in seat installations and car accidents is that Britax is the best in safety and the easiest to install."

He also said that those seat protectors are not really safe. They make the car seat slide. So he removed ours. And he said that the center is the safest place and then behind the passenger is the second safest.

But I forgot to ask him which Britax seat is the safest? Any reccomendations?

ADS

wendytthomas

Admin - CPST Instructor
Staff member
I agree with him. Officially, the best seat is the one that fits your car, fits your child, fits your budget, and will be used correctly 100% of the time. Whether it's a Cosco Scenera for $50 or a Britax Decathalon for $299, they're both safe. If one will be used incorrectly, then don't get that one.