What am I missing?

U

Unregistered

I was a designated parent driver today for my DD's 4-year old class preschool field trip (why they are on a field trip at 4 is beyond me, but that's another story). Anyway, I was shocked and aghast that the two girls I was driving (in addition to my own children) had the wrong carseats. One had a booster only-seat and the other had a lightweight no-harness Graco seat (to use with lap belt). My two just graduated from the Britax Roundabout to the Graco Nautilus, they are 2.5 and 5. The two girls from my DD's class did not look safe to me at all. Their parents helped them "install" their seats and seemed perfectly fine with it all. While I was driving the two girls were leaning down and reaching to the storage areas behind my seat. This seemed so wrong. Am I missing something? Am I a carseat nazi?

ADS

KaceyLynn

I hear you!

my DS's preschool is 3 - 4 & 5 year olds

today they took a trip to go sledding

parents are required to leave some sort of carseat - but all of them were left boosters

in my van DS (5 years old -- 46lbs) rides in a regent
but there is just no way I can expect someone else to be able to get that installed correctly - I too left him a booster

most parent's though just either a. don't know any better or b. don't care

very sad!

carseatcoach

Carseat Crankypants
Booster seats are not my first choice for 4yos, but they are not necessarily the "wrong" seats. A booster cannot be used with a lap belt, though, so if you are in that situation again you should put one of your harnessed seats in the lap-belt-only position.

Mom to a few

Welcome! If you are crazy about everything related to car seats, you've come to the right place :)!