aap car safety seats guideline

sopapia

i recently noticed that AAP changed their guidelines regarding carseats b/c i was looking it up to send to my friends. it's great! they finally did something. when i was younger, there were no carseats. however, i can't help but smile and laugh b/c i would have still be in a booster in HS according to their height and weight requirement if it weren't for the age statement. i graduated HS weighing 85 lbs and was around 5'1" so i probably would still fit in a booster in HS. :rolleyes:

Infants Infant seats and rear-facing convertible seats
All infants younger than 1 year and who weigh less than 20 pounds should always ride rear-facing.
Toddlers/Preschoolers

Convertible seats Children 1 year of age and at least 20 pounds can ride forward-facing. It is best to ride rear-facing as long as possible.
School-aged children Booster seats Booster seats are for older children who have outgrown their forward-facing car safety seats. Children should stay in a booster seat until adult belts fit correctly (usually when a child reaches about 4' 9" in height and is between 8 and 12 years of age).

Older children Seat belts Children who have outgrown their booster seats should ride in a lap and shoulder belt in the back seat until 13 years of age.

ADS

zeo2ski

The AAP changed that a while ago, I just wish they would emphasize it more!

It's a fine line regarding what you said about needing a booster in HS. The age "8-12" they put there does not actually read as a recommendation but simply a this-is-when-it-usually-happens regarding properly fitting the adult seat belt which is actually what they are recommending. I doubt there are too many HSers out there who would sit in a booster, no matter their size, but age does not make an adult belt fit properly, size does. Maybe someday we'll see a redesign in the seat belts that will allow them to fit properly.