Chicco Keyfit 30 legal in Canada?

datadump

Hello world. I'm going to be a first time daddy in May 2009 and I started looking at buying some gear. Among a whole lotta other research for other gear, I've been looking at which car seat to buy. I'm a newbie here so bear with me please.

Basically I narrowed it down to two products for car seat. The Peg Perego Primo Viaggio SIP and the Chicco Keyfit 30.

After narrowing it down, I realised that Chicco keyfit has two versions.... 22 vs 30lb version. I read somewhere in another forum that this is not approved for use in Canada but then it was an older 2007 forum posting.

Is this true still? I did notice that only the original keyfit (22lb) version was listed in the sticky in this forum..

thanks all.

ADS

QuassEE

Moderator - CPST Instructor
We just have the KF22 in Canada. I love the seat.. Being a US tech, I've had a few installs with them now and I absolutely love the base and the seat design. I do find that most people (myself included) discontinue use of their infant seat (or at least stop lugging it around) at the 18-22lb mark anyways... Ideally children should never be transported in a carseat beyond JUST in the car (and in and out of the car)--never in a stroller because of the risk of plagiocephely.

I'd aim for a higher weighted infant seat if I knew I was going to have a child exceed their 22lb infant seat's limits in the winter and I lived in a cold climate..otherwise, I don't really think that the 30lb weight limit is a huge deal. It's a great added bonus and gives you some extra options but ...eh.. I really think it may encourage Canadian parents to go from an infant seat into a combo seat, and potentially too early--simply because the infant seat will get them beyond that 1 year mark. In that sense, 30lb infant seats aren't such a great thing afterall.

Are you really going to lug a 29-30'lber around in their infant seat still?

-Nicole.

BW1426