Question "Best" car seat?

speedemn

Is there any such thing as a definitively best car seat? Or will that question get as many different answers as people who answer it? :) I am new to all things baby and I have read through a bunch of threads on this forum and could not find any "definitive" answer on what is the best.

For example, when shopping for flat screen plasma TVs, there is no question that Pioneer Elite is the best of the best, if not the best TV ever made. Whether that justifies its price is another question.

The primary "residence" for this baby seat will be in a 2008 model-year SUV so it should have all the basic requirements for fitment and adjustability. What I am curious about is, price aside, what is the hands-down best baby seat that you can buy out there (well, top 3 maybe)? Is there a way to answer that?

Thanks.

ADS

Jeanum

Admin - CPS Technician Emeritus
Staff member
"Best" is very subjective in terms of carseats, as they all must pass the same testing standards to be certified for sale. Techs have a mantra that states the best seat is the one that fits your child, fits your car and will be used properly each and every time. :) While approving your post, I noticed your Canadian location, so I'm moving it over to the Canadian and International section of the forum to assure you receive advice about available Canadian carseat models.

It would also be helpful if you could post back to clarify whether you're looking for infant seat recommendations (i.e., a carrier style infant seat with a carrying handle that's rear facing only) or a convertible seat that may be used rear facing and then turned forward facing once the little one has reached the convertible seat's maximum rear facing capacity, or both types of seats. If you're shopping for a baby who has already arrived, the baby's current age and stats (weight and height/length) would also be helpful for tailoring suggestions for you. :)

CDNTech

Senior Community Member