Is it bad if the ABS light is on?

christineka

It first came on back in September, but went off again and stayed off for weeks. Now it is on most of the time. The manual doesn't shed much light on that other than the fact that it is on to alert me. It is a 1997 ford aerostar. We're planning to buy a new to us van and sell this one in 3-4 months. Do we really need to fix this? The brakes are working.

ADS

MOM25BOYS

It could just simply be a fuse going bad or sensor, but I am no mechanic.:eek: I had the same thing to happen to my 2000 Impala. When I took it to a mechanic he simply told me it was just a bad fuse that I wasn't in real danger of my ABS failing.

beeman

It is likely a burnt fuse or busted sensor like MOM25BOYS said. The ABS system may or may not work in this situation. Check your fuses first, as this is an easy DIY fix. If you choose not to have it fixed be prepared for the ABS system to not work, and let the buyer know that the light is on. If you know someone with a code reader, you could get a scan, and that may pin point the problem :twocents: .

strollerfreak

Senior Community Member
Like a PP pointed out it may be a bad fuse. Check that first. If replacing the fuse doesn't work, take it to AutoZone/O'Reilly's/PepBoys/AdvancedAuto ...they have generic scanners that can tell you what code the computer is giving you FOR FREE.

I had a Chevy Montana that liked to get rocks stuck under the brake pads, or if snow got built up in the front wheel wells...and that would turn the ABS light on. :rolleyes:

It may be worth it to get it fixed...if you are planning on selling it, it will bring a MUCH better price if it's fixed...people don't like buying vehicles with apparent issues, and since it's a total buyers market it may be worth it depending on how much it'll cost to have it fixed.

Last edited:

valleyfam