Help with Correct Installation using LATCH/top anchor

U

Unregistered

Hi,

OK. We finally got our new car (RAV4) and new carseat. (Temporarily the Cosco high back booster -- I know you guys don't like this seat -- if it doesn't fit well, I may exchange it! But my daughter's happy with it right now.)

I've finally got the seats of the car situated the way I think they will be used most of the time, in a way that will allow access to the third row of seat. I've put the carseat on the side behind the driver's seat.

I've never used the LATCH system before, and thought I'd give it a try. I think I figured out the bottom 2 tethers correctly. But, what about the top anchor -- when/how is it supposed to be used? Is it necessary or optional with either system (LATCH or seatbelts)? When is the top anchor supposed to be secured at the anchor at the bottom of the seatback?

Right now, I have the carseat secured at the bottom with the LATCH hooks. And the top anchor is over the seatback and secured at the bottom seatback hook. To do that, I took the headrest off the seat, and then put it back on, but the headrest is now resting over the edge of the carseat's top -- is that OK as long as the headrest is secured? (My daughter's head is nowhere near the top of the carseat).

I hope this makes sense. I know I'm not using all the proper terms and lingo!! Thanks!

ADS

Dillipop

You should always use the top tether anchor with a forward facing seat if one is available. It really reduces head excursion in an accident.

I personally would just remove the headrest altogether and put it somewhere safe until you need to use it. My headrests are in my trunk and if I need to move a seat for an adult to sit, I reinstall the headrest. This way, the head rest is not interfering with my carseat install, but are close by if I need them.

SafeDad

CPSDarren - Admin
Staff member
First-