Confused about harness height vs. maximum child height

BabyB'sMom15

Hi,
Thanks in advance for what I know will be a lot of helpful information. I poke around here quite a bit and can usually get all my questions answered by browsing other threads; this is my first time posting.

My question is about harness heights (top slot) vs. manufacturers' suggested child height. For instance, Recaro Young Sport says max. child height for harness is 40" (I measured 18" top slots), but Graco Nautilus says 52" max. child height but the top slots are only slightly higher. How could you fit a child that is a foot taller if the top slot is less than an inch taller? Am I missing something?

(The ones I am looking into now are GN, Recaro YS and Britax Frontier, maybe Como/Signo.)

Thanks!

ADS

wendytthomas

Admin - CPST Instructor
Staff member
It's about torso height. Piper had a VERY long torso for a long time.

2089463811_2515e36f4c.jpg

You can see how short and stubby her legs were then (she was 18 months old).

Now elongate that from 34" to say 48". Her torso at 34" was a good chunk of her body, probably about 14.5". At 48" at that proportion she would have had a 20.5" torso. So she would have outgrown an 18" seat at 42".

Conversely, take someone with a short torso. I met a little girl tonight who at 2.5 years was on the bottom slots of her Marathon. She probably has an 11" torso. She was probably about what Piper was in height at that age (I can't remember what she was, but probably about 37"). She'll outgrown an 18" seat at 60.5". At that proportion.

Does that make sense? Piper's torso stopped growing 18 months ago, so she's actually far more proportionate now. Her torso and my torso are about the same, proportionally.

We don't put much stock in overall child height. That's the average. Well, for the seat and kids I did the average would be 51". They have to put *something* on there, but there's no way to know in what way kids grow.

Wendy

BabyB'sMom15