Carseat on Air Tran?

jewlsvern

Has anyone flown this airline with a carseat? I have never used them before and I am just wondering how the carseat will fit. I have an EFTA but just bought the Avenue to use on the plane since it is lighter and a little smaller.

Will I have any trouble with this seat RF on the plane? Also a friend will be loaning us their Ford Windstar (90's I think so no LATCH). Will I have any install issues here? Should I bring a pool noodle?

Should I even bother with the Avenue or just use the EFTA I already have?

ADS

disbugsmomma

I don't have any answers for you, but I'm also hoping someone knows how big the seats are. We are flying next month with a FF Scenera.

Jeanum

Admin - CPS Technician Emeritus
Staff member
I flew Air Tran last month with DD1 but we didn't use a carseat on board (we brought her RSTV for use in the car to and from the airport only and used Disney transportation in Orlando). Air Tran uses Boeing 717 planes and the seats in coach didn't seem any smaller or larger than those on larger Boeing 737/757 jets I've flown on and used carseats on. :twocents:

LuvMyCharlie

We flew AirTran in May and it was okay. I didn't have any problems with flight attendants and RF. The install, however, was EXTREMELY upright. So much so, that when my almost 1 year old fell asleep, his chin was all the way on his chest. He just could NOT get comfortable. He only slept 15 minutes the whole 4 hours. He was not a happy camper. We took our spare Comfortsport because it's smaller than the MA he usually rides in. I did, against my better judgement, turn him FF on the return flight. He slept almost the entire time. When he was awake, though, he was able to kick the seat in front of him, and he actually has pretty short legs compared with his torso. Width wise, the seat fit just fine. We're flying Continental next month, and I'm hoping to have better luck with my Scenera on there.

wendytthomas

Admin - CPST Instructor
Staff member