UGH my 8yo is drving me crazy w/terrible booster use

ginny4

you would think that an 8 yo would be fine in a HBB. HA i got news for you. this child has been in a booster since 4yo. i know i know i didn't "know" anything then. DS has been leanign out of position way too many times to the poitn where i if catch him out of position & has toys with him i stop the car & take the toys away.
and you can't seem to buckel the turbo up correctly. the belt ends up behind the armrest not in front of it. GRRRRR....i have my 9yo checking his brothers fit before we leave. it just drives me INSANE. i threaten the regent for him but he's so close to being too tall for it anyway. UGH
any tips?

ADS

fyrfightermomma

I'm not an expert on boosters by any means, but would a different booster work? One that surrounds him more than the Turbo, like a Monterey, Recaro etc?? I know they're expensive but they look like they really need to work to get out of position in those things.

How about rewarding good behavior. Like "if you sit correctly the whole car ride, when we get home you get one star . When you get 5 stars you get something you want"

Not sitting correctly in the booster for the car ride could result in a star being taken away.

Or you could have certain "things" he likes to do be the reward. Like 1/2 hour TV time, 1/2 hour video games, a movie or something. When he sits correctly he "earns" those privelages and if he doesn't they are taken away.

You could try You tube videos showing accidents and show what happens if he doesn't sit correctly. He's old enough to understand what's happening there.

I hope you find something that works!

melniemi