Hello Everyone

Kristen

Hi! I have really enjoyed these boards for the past week and thought I should let you know who I am. My name is Kristen, I am 31 with 2 children, Johann, 4 and Kasmira, 2. We live in Nova Scotia, Canada. My husband of 8 years is in the armed forces and I "stay home" with the kiddies.

For the past 2 years I have been a Child Restraint Safety Technician with St. John's Ambulance. This is a national program, though our restraint laws are mostly provincial.

Just before finding this site I encountered an American couple, who had very recently emmigrated to Canada, at a clinic. I always knew that the laws in our countries were different, but I didn't realize how different. I admire those of you here that are not only fighting public misconception but lack of restraint law! My hat off to you all and I look forward to getting to know you better.

ADS

Dsunny1

CPST Instructor
Welcome Kristen. I hope you enjoy this board as much as the rest of us do. There are a lot of very knowledgable people and I learn something new daily. What are the laws for child restraints in Nova Scotia? I live in Michigan, and they are one of the worse states for child restraint laws. I really hope that changes soon! Have a wonderful day and welcome to this board... glad you found us.

Kristen

First of all we have national laws, all car seats must meet Canadian standards to be sold in Canada; all children under 40# must be in a restraint (there are some exceptions but they are different province to province); rf till one year and 20#, though all literatures now says to leave them rf to the upper limits of the seat; rf seat is not to be tethered; ff seat must be tethered.