There is no such thing as a low back booster.

Gypsy

Senior Community Member
It's a backless booster. It doesn't have a low back - there is no back.

Every time I see LBB I cringe. It's not proper terminology and people might search for "low back booster" and find pretty much nothing.

BB would be proper. LBB is not. Everyone used to just use BB and that's wonderful, but even BLB would be ok.

:cool!:

ADS

keri1292

I'm sure that I'm guilty of this, but I've read it elsewhere so I assumed it was interchangeable.

A child is too large for the seat if:
The child weighs more than the seat's upper weight limit.
The top of the child's ears are above the top of the booster seat (high back booster) or vehicle seat back (low back booster).
The seat is too narrow or too short.
~ http://www.cpsafety.com/articles/boosterbasics.aspx

It's also the term used in this Safe Kids pdf... http://www.ctsafekids.org/pdf_files/FAQ for CT.pdf

If it's not an accepted term, as a tech, I'll try to be sure I say backless booster. However, we've seen pretty much every question known to man here and I've yet to see anyone confused on what exactly a low back booster would be.

Mama!

It's a backless booster. It doesn't have a low back - there is no back.

Every time I see LBB I cringe. It's not proper terminology and people might search for "low back booster" and find pretty much nothing.

BB would be proper. LBB is not. Everyone used to just use BB and that's wonderful, but even BLB would be ok.

:cool!:
I thought Ii'd get spanked if I said No back booster. I think I say LBB b/c that's what I always see. :eek:

joolsplus3

Admin - CPS Technician
:shrug-shoulders: Been hearing the term for 10+ years now, it's never seemed to confuse anyone...

I think I've been saying backless for awhile now, though.

BookMama

Senior Community Member
:shrug-shoulders: Been hearing the term for 10+ years now, it's never seemed to confuse anyone...

I think I've been saying backless for awhile now, though.