A stupid question...re latch and seatbelt

Kristy00

I have my kids carseats installed with either latch or a seatbelt, depending on weight. I was talking to a friend who told me that she secured her seats in using both. I responded with something to the effect of "that is not a good idea..." but when she asked me why, I had no answer.

Why can't you use latch and a seatbelt at the same time to secure a seat? Or can you and I am just mixed up?:confused:

ADS

Jan06twinmom

I'm not an expert, but I can tell you what I understand.

One reason is that the carseats have not been tested with both - or they were tested with both and failed. So by using both, your child becomes the crash test dummy in an accident.

The other reason it is not allowed is because carseats are actually supposed to move to some extent in an accident. If you only use one, the carseat will move like it is supposed to and it will protect you child. It was designed, tested, and passed the testing this way. But if you use both, the carseat can actually be in too tight. In an accident, instead of moving like it is supposed to, the stresses put on by both the seatbelt and latch could put too much stress on the carseat and the seat could fail.

Hey experts - Did I get the right answer? Or what did I mess up on?

raelynn

Senior Community Member
I'm not an expert, but I can tell you what I understand.

One reason is that the carseats have not been tested with both - or they were tested with both and failed. So by using both, your child becomes the crash test dummy in an accident.