• Twisty like Cosco

Votes: 2 11.8%
  • Too twisty to even want

Votes: 0 0.0%
  • Just had to click!!

Votes: 7 41.2%

• Total voters

melniemi

Please help me decide if I want one. I love my marathon straps and have no issues with the regent ones, so if they are like the regent, that would be fine with me.:)

ADS

snowbird25ca

Moderator - CPST Instructor
Keeping in mind I have no experience with the Regent, and the Frontier I have only played with our floor model at work...

The Frontier's straps "flip" very easily. They're twisty in a different sort of way than the way that Cosco straps twist - the old Cosco ones used to turn into literal ropes of twists that you couldn't flatten out. The Frontier is more like the EFTA where the buckle will flip around on the webbing if you're not careful, but the webbing stays flat.

From the playing with the Frontier and comparing to everyday use of the EFTA, I'd say that the straps are probably pretty similar in twist probability. The problem I foresee with the Frontier is that they can twist down at the bottom of the waist strap - right against the shell, and aren't easy to untwist down there. This happened when a parent went to put a child in the demo seat at the store - and this seat had been out less than a week and I was helping him - it just happens that quick and easy.

eta: They are not like the MA straps at all, although I have noticed that even the new MA straps on recent DOM seats twist easier than the ones from when I bought our MA in 2006. Again it's just a matter of straightening them when they start to turn - I've seen some pretty twisted ones at seat checks though... At least they lay flat again once untwisted.