Going from a truck to a small car..... (thoughts)

MsFacetious

I have been driving a 2005 Dodge Ram for several months now. It was cheaper than insuring my van seperately. However, with visiting family, more appointments and everything else we are doing... the gas is killing us. We are going through about a tank a week. Sometimes I can make it stretch for 1.5 - 2 weeks. It's $85 to fill it up.

So.... there is a little car that was originally bought for me to drive... but then it wasn't fixed so I didn't drive it. (It has a name - Wobbles. The front end was pretty shakey and it needed new brakes.)

My first car was a 1988 BMW... this is pretty much the same car just with 4 doors instead of 2. However I am still finding myself a little nervous about going from a big truck to a small car.

I was rear ended in my BMW while I was pregnant with my oldest, by someone going 50+ mph... barely scratched my bumper while his Hyundai was totalled.

I have the utmost faith in the older BMW's to protect us. I wouldn't agree to drive a small car unless I was confident in it. The trunk is huge (big enough for a couple of bodies :whistle: ) so the stroller would still fit along with any other projectiles... after we take care of the tether anchor issue there really is no reason it wouldn't be perfectly safe.

However....there is that false sense of security that comes with being bigger than most of the other vehicles on the road. Knowing that if I got rear ended on the freeway (one of my biggest fears, getting rear ended at a stop by someone going freeway speeds) that there would be the whole bed of the truck before it would get to the kids. Also that the truck is designed to break in half... bed seperating from cab. I love that I have the whole bed to put things in so I don't have to have any projectiles at all in the cab. (We have a lid on the bed.)

Then there was that one accident on Christmas where a Honda was totalled and our truck didn't even have a scratch. :whistle: