My chiro brought something to my attention

Tara

...regarding our '03 SnugRide. It's a cheaper version..5pt and front adjust are the extent of its 'extras'. Minimal padding. Thus...my issue here.
She was checking his fit in the seat and all and noticed the padding stopped just below his shoulders...at the bottom slots. She said to 'just fix/adjust that' so he had padding all the way down. That the stop in padding there wasn't ideal.

Of course, as she's saying this I'm kind of "wink/nudge" with hub...as I would *love* an excuse to buy a new car seat LOL

She assures us that isn't necessary, to just adjust the padding. :)

We then let her in on the fact that I'm a car seat obsessed tech and long for any excuse to buy a new seat. She then "aaah" and laughs and half whispering over her shoulder to me as she turns to walk away, "you can slip me my $20 now" :giggle:

Anyway...

Later I check into this padding issue. It does indeed stop abruptly just below that bottom slot. But there is no way to adjust it. And there is no other padding to pull up to meet it. No way to fill in the gap.

Argh!

Now, as I said..I'd love to buy a new seat ;) But, honestly, it must be *necessary*.

So, I know the standard rule is if it isn't sold with the seat, it doesn't go with the seat. So, that would rule out slipping a small folded blanket back there, right? Between the cover and the shell.

Do other seats have nice, full padding back there? I've not fully inspected them myself.

On the one hand I'm thinking 'it's not that big of a deal, my others have had this or similar seats and are 'fine'' but on the other..I am seeing this as something new. Something I just wasn't informed of previously, just like extended rear facing ;) And therefore want to make the best choice I can for my child's well-being.

So, your thoughts? Seat recs? (assuming there's nothing I can do about what I have)