Chevy Express Work Van...RF or FF?

laurenrachey

DS is FF now (FPSVD limit 33lbs, I think he's 31-33lbs), but we have a backup EB 3in1. He may need to take a short trip in DH's van. Since the EB RFs to 35lbs, can it be installed RF? The van has two bucket seats in the front with a cage right behind them. No airbag for the passenger, only the driver. The seatbelt locks when pulled out, so RF I'd probably have to use a locking clip to avoid tipping. I *think* I can use the top tether when installed FF. I studied the manual, and it showed a place for a tether to be clipped at the bottom of the seat (the section header said passenger and cargo vans). I can scan the page(s) if need be to verify.

Taking all of this into consideration, which way would you install the seat?

Thanks so much!

ADS

sb518

Hmmm that's an interesting situation.... I would probably install FF'ing, since he weighs over 30lbs it wouldn't be a big deal having him facing forward.

Maybe a tech can chime in though.

carseatcoach

Carseat Crankypants
I'd install RF if I could get a good install, but since he's three, I wouldn't stress if FF worked better for installation or personal reasons.

wendytthomas

Admin - CPST Instructor
Staff member
I agree, I'd attempt a RFing installation, but not stress a whole lot if you can't get it.

Though how close is the cage behind him?

Wendy

laurenrachey

When you slide the seat back as far as it will go (which I had planned to do), it is up against the cage. The seats are pretty tall. Obviously this is a factory work van so the cage is part of the vehicle frame (as it must stay in place in the event of an accident to protect the passengers from the two tons of crap my hubby hauls around with him! lol - heating and air)

wendytthomas

Admin - CPST Instructor
Staff member
As long as the seats are tall enough to keep him from rebounding into the cage then I'd definitely go RFing. If there's a likelihood he'll hit the cage RFing then I'd probably try FFing.