help! huge no-use by not so close friend!

minismom

i'm trying to be friends w this girl who's close friends w other friends of mine. they're from finland and going back and forth here and there. she came for a playdate today. the husband left. then later her bil comes to get her w his 5yo. the 5yo is in front seat w shoulder belt behind her back. my friend then puts her 2 and a half yo in the back seat w just a belt, also shoulder belt behind belt. wtf??? I don't know what they have in their main car. I'm havimg dinner w them now and don't know if I should say something. help!

ADS

mommy2env

First of all, where have you been? Long time no chat. :p

I have no idea how you should approach her. How about...

"Did you know I am a tech? I really need practice, would you mind if I install your seat?"

Then, you can ask what kind she has, and take it from there. That would be a great time to give her all the info you have.

I know, my idea is lame. Thats all I could come up with, everything else would sound mean. :whistle:

kirsty

my friend does the same with her kids, she puts her 4 1/2 year old in a backless booster in the front with the belt under his arm(hes short and not tall anoth for it). she then puts her very small 3 year old in high back booster in the back and quiet often she dosnt have that seat so she just in the seat belt. this really anoys me as she has 4 car seats. i have told her so many times she just thinks i worry too much, she thinks im stupid to put a 7 year old in a high back booster seat.

aisraeltax

most of these examples are illegal though, right?

i think there needs to be some standard spill for how unsafe it is, etc. etc. etc. I know I need to work on that but the fact that what these parents are doing is illegal should be compelling reason enough NOT to do it their way. I mean, for some "your kid isnt safe" is just not enough...they need "you could get a ticket for that".....

LCMOM

Senior Community Member