Question to CST's

bekah

I wrote about this before but it got moved to the Car Seat Professional's board which I do not have access to.

I am a NICU nurse, my hospital offers free training to become a CPST but if we take the training we have to go to ALL car seat inspection dates that the hospital schedules. That seems like a lot when I have a young child (it's at least one Saturday a month, often much more).

My question was...1)How often do YOU do thing relating to car seat inspections/fitting 2)Are there other benefits to taking the course 3) If you don't do inspections or work for a car seat safety company, what else do you use this knowledge for (besides your own children, which is wonderful)?

Thanks. I'm just trying to decide.

ADS

mommyto4kiddos

Senior Community Member
I bet as a nurse the hospital will pay you to go to the carseat checks. Not sure but worth looking into. I know the nurses, cops and some others get paid to come to the checks.

LISmama810

Admin - CPS Technician
Honestly, it strikes me as incredibly unrealistic to expect people to volunteer their time every month, no matter what. Do they pay you for the checks? Even if they do, that still seems like a lot to expect from someone on top of their regular job.

I know some programs require you to do a certain number of events within a certain amount of time--but the one I'm familiar with is like three events over a two-year period.

If it's something you're interested in doing, maybe look to see if there's another class in your area. Sometimes the fee for the class is only $60, and then you'd have your certification so you could volunteer at your hospital when it works for you.

To answer your other questions, I do events about 1-2 times a month. (But I'm a SAHM--not with an agency or anything.) I also do private checks, which might or might not be realistic depending on your area and your availability.

Car-Seat.Org Facebook Group

Forum statistics

Threads
Members
Latest member