You don't know how to drive: as important as car seats

dimsumdaddy

I chose a more "sensationalized" topic title just to get people's attention. The sad reality is that driver's ed does not teach you emergency handling, or vehicle dynamics at the limit (which is what happens in emergency situations).

I'm researching this topic for myself so I'm just getting into this topic but would like to start a discussion on it.

One great problem appears to be swerving. No one seems to understand why this is a problem. And to top it off, in traffic situations on my commute and a sudden stop occurs (at lower speeds) Instead of straight line braking, I see people suddenly turning off to the side of the road, apparently thinking that they are "preparing for emergency avoidance". The reality is, if they did this exact maneuver at speed in a true sudden stop situation, this would result in a swerve, skid, and possible roll over.

ADS

JerseyGirl'sMama

I haven't ever taken any additional driving classes (though I think it would be great!)

Just last week while driving 60 mph on the freeway, a car cut another car off, which was about 6 up in front of me. It caused an immediate slam on brakes situation. Two cars collided, and 3 cars (including me) sweved off the side onto the shoulder to avoid collision. Of course, it was really more like slam on brakes, and swerve over to shoulder when speed was greatly reduced. I just did what seemed 'natural' to me. It would be helpful to know what you 'should' do.

southpawboston

dimsumdaddy,

i've been preaching here for a while on the importance of understanding how to control your car in an emergency. driver's ed doesn't teach squat about this. you need to go to a professional driving school like skip barber for that. you have to learn by taking your car into an emergency situation and applying certain principles... basically you learn "by the seat of your pants".