how to approach a parent?

danielle.nichole

Senior Community Member
So I take babysitting jobs here in Dallas thru a local agency, and the other night I sat for a a very sweet family with a 13 month old who is in a FFing MA with a custom cover. (They pulled up just as I got there, so I got to walk by and look at the carseat :)) I took a deep breath and contemplated the whole evening how I could possibly mention to them that they should turn baby back around to RFing, and get that dang cover off too! Baby was precious, and definitely under 30lbs.

When the parents got home at the end of the night, mom and I were chatting and I casually mentioned that I was a car seat technician and she immediately asked if I wouldn't mind coming back over and looking at her seat sometime. I asked her for her email address telling her I would send her some information and we could schedule a time to get together and I could take a look at her seat.

So my question is, what should I say in your intitial email? I want a tactful way to say "Your little girl is too small to be forward facing, turn her back around RFing NOW NOW NOW and get that custom cover off ASAP!!!!!!!!" I also plan to include the youtube video, "the importance of rear facing" and some other links to websites she can look at!

TIA!!!

ADS

wendytthomas

Admin - CPST Instructor
Staff member
When I'm in that situation I generally point out the limits and then add links. So,

"The Britax Marathon has a rear facing weigh limit of 33 pounds, which is wonderful since extended rear facing has been proven to reduce the chances of internal decapitation for children who can ride that way. Check out this crash test footage! It's really telling.

"Here are a couple of links I like, if you want to look at them before we meet together (this would be where you add aftermarket products, covers, etc.)

"I can't wait to meet with you!"