Police made mom go buy new seat after crash before releasing baby

snowbird25ca

Moderator - CPST Instructor
This is a 2nd hand story, so take it with a grain of salt in case it was relayed wrong. The person who told me had been told by the mom herself though, so it seems reliable to me. :thumbsup:

While in my local BRU tonight, I was talking to an employee while I was reading through the manual for the Titan deluxe, and told the employee I was a car seat tech. She then told me about a mom who'd been in earlier in the day who had had a crash about 3hrs prior. Apparently, she was coming in to buy a seat because her baby was at the police station and she couldn't leave to come home without a carseat and they wouldn't let her use the carseat that had been in the crash, so there she was buying a seat.

I have kind of mixed feelings on this. On one hand I'm amazed that the police would be proactive about getting seats out of circulation that have been in a crash and not even letting a baby ride home in one, but on the other hand, what would they do if a parent couldn't run out & buy a seat right then and there?

Very interesting policy to say the least... I know at roadside checks parents with their kids unrestrained or in very old & obviously dangerous seats will be held at a check point until a safe seat is brought for the child. Maybe they're implementing a similar policy with crashed seats? And I wonder what they're doing with the confiscated seats? :question:

ADS

jdchic3

I think it's great that they did that. Now, if it were me, I'd never leave my child at the police station, or anywhere, without myself, DH or another person I trust. Either I'd have someone else bring me a seat or have someone come stay with them while I get the seat. Anyway, lol. Good for those police though!

natysr

That seems weird to me. It is not like she purposely took them out in old, unsafe seats. She was in an accident.