What I Have Seen Lurking....

Mylilboyblue

Now I *know* I am not a professional or a tech, and while I have been a carseat fan since my brothers (10 and 12 years my junior) were babies I by no means know everything....BUT....

In the span of two days I have seen right in my apartment complex a Century 5000 STE, a Fisher-Price T-Sheild (not the newer navy one but the even older grey with black sheild), and if that wasn't frightening enough I saw a Graco Snugride installed facing forward. How the heck do they do that!?!?!?!?!?! The Century and Fisher Price had to be about 15-16 years old since my brothers had those back in the day and an INFANT carseat facing forward? Maybe it was wrong of me because I am not a tech or anything, but I left a note on their window of the forward facing snugride with the number to the police department in our town (we have trained techs) and a list of convertables of all prices. Sigh, what scary things lurk in the backseats of cars everywhere. :(

Christine

ADS

melniemi

I know what you mean! Here in MI the law is 'under 4' and lots of people push the limit. I almost never see preschoolers in any seat and I've seen so many old, icky looking seats! My 16 yo sis had that Fisher Price w/black t-shield! Yikes. I try not to look.

BookMama

Senior Community Member
melniemi - I'm in Michigan too, and I agree that SO many people push the limits. I saw a woman leaving DD's day care a couple of months ago with what had to be a 1,2, and 3 year old in NO car seats. (I like to assume they were at least buckled but I couldn't tell.) I haven't seen her since or I would have called the cops, though I suppose that Ypsilanti cops have other things to do.

Not to mention what I see when I drop off/pick up DS from first grade. I'm sure he's the only harnessed first grader (though I did see a couple kindergartners with harnessed seats on a field trip day) and few of the kids are even in boosters.

Wonder if I can pick them up with my eyes closed ...