Replacing Tires

canadianmom2three

Had my car in for some maintenance the other day and they told me my tires need changing soon. DH is in disagreement, he says they are nowhere near the tread wear markers. To me, they look to be very close to the markers...I'm just not really a tire expert, is this something that you let wear to the point that they are down to the markers, or are the markers sort of like the empty light for the gas tank, in that once you are at that point, you are in serious trouble?
I think DH is just trying to hold off cause we are planning to get winter tires this year (YAY!!) but the other morning it was a bit rainy, and I was skidding where it seemed to me I shouldn't have been at all...

ADS

SafeDad

CPSDarren - Admin
Staff member
You will see the treadwear indicators when the treadlife is getting pretty low. You may still get thousands of miles on them, but it's a good idea to swap them.

Dry traction will remain just about as good even at low tread. Wet traction will be reduced and snow traction greatly reduced on low tread.

If you're getting winter tires soon, no point replacing the 3-season tires until spring IMO.

southpawboston

if you plan to buy winter tires and have them mounted on the rims that your current all-seasons are on, then it's not worth saving the current ones for next year. the money it will cost to have the winter tires unmounted and the worn all-seasons remounted will amount to the price of one or even two new tires. i always recommend buying a cheap set of new or used rims to use exclusively for winter tires. that way you don't have to incur the costs of mounting a set of four tires on a set of rims twice a year.

and ditto what darren said about traction. dry traction will be pretty much just as good, but as the tread depth decreases, the ability of the tire to sipe water away from the footprint of the tire decreases, resulting in greater chance of hydroplaning. the same is true for snow.

beeman