2 kids + 1 mom via air travel. Help!

S

SSAguirre

Hello Community!

I need help sorting out the logistics of this upcoming trip, or maybe I just need someone to talk me off my obsessive, type A ledge. Anyway...

So, I will be traveling at the end of Oct, Chicago-Midway to Atlanta on Southwest, alone with my two children - a very petite 2.5 year old (25 lbs currently, rides RF in a Diono Ranier) and my beast 6 month old (22 lbs/28 in currently, rides RF Bitax Highway 65. Just maxed out the shoulder height on his Britax B-Safe). I have traveled regularly via air alone with my daughter, and we traveled as a family of 4 in July, but this is my first attempt at transporting/installing 2 kids + carseat(s) without a second adult.

So, what's the best option here?
1. Traveling with both of my existing cs...which seems like a bad idea. Cost effective, but bad.

2. Travel with the Diono, rent CARES for the 2.5 yr old and purchase a Cosco Scenera to ship ahead to Grandma in ATL. **This is my first choice, but my concern here is that the Diono would have to go RF on the plane to accommodate the 6 mo old, and I have no assurance it will fit RF and installing the Diono on a plane sucks in general.

3. Buy 2 Sceneras (Or the Diono and buy 1 Scenera) and both kids ride in cs on the flight. **I'm nervous about the FA in this trip possibly not allowing me to install 2 cs in a row (window and middle, me on the aisle). I've also heard that the Sceneras are difficult to install and I have zero interest in negotiating pool noodles.