Handle up question

murphydog77

Admin - CPST Instructor
Staff member
I've seen it in a couple of places now where people, both general parents and techs, have mentioned that when considering infant seats, they think it's a con that handles must be in the up position. For instance, on the Cybex Aton 2 and Q seats and the Combi Shuttle seats, the handle must be in the up position. Why is that considered a disadvantage?

ADS

xursusmaritimusx

hmmm maybe some parents find it to be in the way? but as a tech i see it as a rebound feature (as some manufacturers say) I know that some parents i talk to are concerned about the handle breaking in a crash and injuring baby but since new testing and reports from manufacturers are proving otherwise. i let them know.

but also i find leaving the handle up as a convenience since you dont have to adjust it when you put it in or take it out.

safeinthecar

Moderator - CPS Technician
I know one cop tech who was the first responder on a scene where a loose harness resulted in fatal head to handle contact in a side impact. She has a very strong reaction to handles up and would never put her own children in a seat requiring the handle up.

jordansmom

As a parent I like being able to leave the handle up as a form of anti rebound and because it's one less step to put it in another position.

I can see how parents would like the flexibility of being able have the handle in multiple positions and not feeling limited. I'm also imagining for parents that leave the infant seat installed, it's easier to load/unload a baby with the handle left back.

murphydog77

Admin - CPST Instructor
Staff member
I know one cop tech who was the first responder on a scene where a loose harness resulted in fatal head to handle contact in a side impact. She has a very strong reaction to handles up and would never put her own children in a seat requiring the handle up.