Help! What is after a convertible, or do I stay there? Plus product rec's needed

JillianMarie

We're replacing a Boulevard for our son, 3yrs 10 months, 41 inches tall, 36 lbs, I'm not positive on the way to measure his torso, but standing he's 21 inches from top of his hip down to the floor. The new seat will be outboard in our 2013 toyota Venza and next to a Chicco Keyfit 30 with the base (and a RF convertible after that) in the center position.

I'm a novice on car seats past the convertible stage. I tried 5 seats at BRU today, some convertibles and others were the Nautilus and Frontier style seats (not a booster, but not a convertible, what are those called?) I couldn't get a good install with MaxiCosi Pria70, Chicco Next fit, or the Evenflow Symphony. I didn't care for the Graco Argo (their latch connectors were the hook style like a tether, and I couldn't get the seat back out forever!)

I learned I don't like the hook style latch connector (tether style) or the new Smart Latch (the giant plastic ones). I prefer the small black and red basic latch connectors I'm used to; yes, I can and will do a seat belt install but I like the Latch option, especially passing this seat down to a younger sibling.

Toyota defers to seat weight limits. I anticipate we will always outgrow in height vs weight.

What should I buy next? Another convertible with a taller shell, another Britax convertible, a hybrid seat such as the Nautilus... Etc? I see he is technically able to go in a high back booster but he still seems like my little baby boy ;)

The one and only seat I liked today was the Graco My ride 65, but I see where it seems perhaps not as sturdy as the Britax line. Please let me know anything I should know, consider, or have wrong. I need a new seat before the end of this weekend. I have access to many retailers. Thank you!

ADS

jgomez411