Please help me pick a car seat! in Canada

serenity111

I have been coming to these forums for a long time to find answers to my questions in others posts, but this is my first time posting a question of my own.

My husband's car was recently hit by another driver when it was parked, and our Evenflo Triumph was in the car at the time. This car seat suited us very well, as it is used for both our 30 lb. 3.5 y.o. and our 24 lb. 21 m.o. so the infinite slide harness has been perfect for us. Our two complaints are the difficulty installing the seat and the size of the car seat.

My husband often has to remove or flip the car seat to accomodate passengers (he often drives our 5 y.o. nephew, for example, who needs to forward face), so, since we need to replace the seat, we have decided to look for something easier to install.

We need a tall shell, as my daughter has outgrown her current car seat in my car by height (she FF in my car), but I refuse to let DS ride FF so young, so we will mostly leave it RF. Eventually the car seat will forward face, so the harness needs to be adjustable from the front. Finally we want something easy to install.

At the moment I am looking at the Evenflo Symphony DLX, but would really love some other options.

ADS

Nedra

Car-Seat.org Ambassador
Re: Please help me pick a car seat!

The Symphony has a short shell, if I am not mistaken. The Evenflo Sureride might be a good fit for you, though. Others to try would be the Chicco Nextfit (very easy to install and tall shell) and Diono Radian (tall shell and you can get an angle adjuster to make it more upright). The trouble with the Radian and the Sureride, though is that they have re-thread harnesses, so not easy to use between two kids. I'd maybe look most closely at the Nextfit.

What car is it going to be installed in? Do you have a budget?

serenity111

Thanks for the help. I forgot to mention that I am in Canada, so I believe the NextFit is not an option for me.