So sad! I can't take the CPST course!

Nedra

Car-Seat.org Ambassador
So I am a teacher and I found a summer CPST course that is about 3 hours from where I live. My in-laws offered to pay for us to all stay in a resort and make a vacation out of it so that I could take the course.

The trouble is, the course starts the first day of summer break -- and now we have had days added to our calendar because of the weather this year. So I requested the day off...but because most of the staff at my school were already scheduled to be at a training out of town, they need all the bodies they can to run the rest of the school, so my request was denied.

So instead of this awesome CPST trip, I am going to be stuck at school with a bunch of substitute teachers and kids who are beyond ready to be done with school.

I couldn't be more sad. :(

Is there any chance that if I contacted the instructor they could make arrangements for me to make-up the first day? I am part-time, so if I booked it out of town, I could maybe get there for the last 3 hours of the first day, but I'd miss the first 6 hours. I hear that the first part isn't as hands-on ... Any way I could test out of it? Or take a webinar or something? Anything?

ADS

thepote

Aw I'm sorry. What a bummer. Sounds like you would really have nothing to lose by contacting them. It would also give you a chance to ask when and where they are planning future courses.

Good luck!

Nedra

Car-Seat.org Ambassador
I went ahead and left her a voicemail. I figured I had nothing to loose by asking. It's only a three-day course, though, so I am guessing that they consider every minute to be critical.

ketchupqueen

CPST and ketchup snob
Staff member
The official rules set by safe kids say if you don't attend all the instruction time you don't pass. (you can make up the check event in some circumstances, but not the instruction.) Sorry.

joolsplus3

Admin - CPS Technician