Question let's talk about passenger vans and rollover

MamanMag

Hi everyone,

We just sold our Town &Country and are looking at the Nissan NV. We just took it for a test drive. My husband had no issues adjusting to driving a truck but it was MY first time and well, I didn't feel very comfortable... My DH told me that I have to take my time and no sudden movements! Since sudden movements may induce rollover. I did some research about rollover and according to the NHTSA the NV has a 2 star rating for rollover (30.6%). Not great of course but to be expected on such a big van.

So, now, I would love to hear if any of you ever had to avoid something on the road, if you've ever hit a curb and what the outcomes were. In other words, what is your experience with driving a big vehicle? I would love to hear any advice too!!

Should I worry about rollover? I read that one of the reasons for rollover are inexperienced drivers, well, I've been driving for over 15 years but I never drove something bigger than my T&C...

Also, is it possible to park such a big van between two other vehicles on a regular Texan parking lot (grocery stores, mall,...)? I tried several times but failed quite miserably... I have to get my orange cones out again :)

TIA,

Mag

ADS

Keeanh

The 2-star means nothing, really. It's a big van being compared to sports cars. Of course it's going to come out behind. It's like comparing the risk of frostbite in Alaska vs Arizona and saying "Don't live in Alaska!" LOL. You just need to use common sense and drive it like a van, not a sports car. I've made emergency manoeuvres in my Safari (Astro) & Express without any trouble. If you need a big van, you need a big van. The Ford Explorer also gets a 2-star. I haven't heard of people being worried about driving those.

Here's an interesting article on those rollover ratings:
http://www.caranddriver.com/columns...atings-good-enough-for-government-work-column