Question When do techs turn their kids forward?

wagonlover

DD is a petite 4.5 yo RF in an Advocate who will outgrow it shortly by height. I'm debating turning her forward vs. buying something else to keep her RF (e.g. Nextfit, Radian.) I realize we're beyond most goals for RF, but was just wondering what everyone who knows all the data does for their own kids?

ADS

Suzibeck

I planned to keep my youngest (only child small enough to rf when I was a tech) rfing until she outgrew her RXT but she was begging and begging to turn ff so at 4 1/2, I let her. After a few months, she asked to go back rfing and she did for a few weeks but she was nearly outgrowing it at that point and I got an awesome deal on a Prosport and she went ff full time shortly before her 5th birthday and I sold the RXT.

ETA: After age 4, I would not buy a new seat for a child to rf unless they had a medical reason to need to stay rfing longer. I may not even buy a new seat after age 3, before age 3 I definitely would though.

trippsmom

CPST Instructor
I would not buy another seat to continue to rf a child who made it to/beyond 4y rfing already.

Honestly, I didn't for my own child who made it beyond 3yo rfing before outgrowing his radian. My oldest daughter just turned 4 last month and is still happily fitting rf in her radian xtsl. I'd probably be checking her often if she was in her classic marathon since she seemed to be getting close-ish when she used it the other day. I actually only use it if I have to and I had to have seats for her in 4 vehicles at the same time for two days so I had to.

Edit: if you can't stomach turning and it wouldn't be a financial burden, go ahead and buy a radian. Dd1 is soooo petite that I feel sick thinking of flipping her.

gsdguenter

I'm a tech. I turned DD1 at 4y10m. She outgrew her radian.

DD2 is 4y7m now and still rf. She will be until she outgrows get Radians/Foonf.