Got Recaro performance sport as a shower gift

v1cky84

Hi everyone,

It's my first time posting but I've been a long time lurker in the forum. A friend of mine was generous enough to give DH & I a Recaro Performance Sport Harness to Booster Seat for our unborn DD (due date: 11/20/13). While we truly appreciate his generous gift, it seems like it will be a while before we can use it. I've read many recommendations on rear facing as long as possible due to safety reasons and this car seat cannot be use RFing so that may mean closer to 2 years before we can even use it (depending on DD's height and weight too, of course).
When is approximately the earliest age for appropriate use of this car seat? The specs say at least 1 yr and 20lb but would that be switching my DD FFing too early and therefore is unsafe? The seat expires in 6 years so I feel like it'd be a waste to just let it collect dust for 1.5-2 years until DD is ready to use it. We plan on having a second one in 2-3 years so I'd like to prolong the use & life of this car seat as much as possible. Should we exchange it for a convertible car seat so we can use it sooner? Or should we just keep it until DD is ready to use it?
I'd love to hear your feedbacks. TIA.

ADS

wendytthomas

Admin - CPST Instructor
Staff member
Hi Vicky,

I'd expect to rear face to at least two, but ideally much closer to four. So I would sell or return the Performance Sport, or exchange it for a convertible. I wouldn't keep it. You won't get much use out of it. And depending on what convertible you have, it may not last a whole lot longer. It has 18" top slots and many convertibles have 17.5" top slots. So you're looking at a few months extra.

Wendy

v1cky84