looking for option for an 11 yr old

pbandjenny

CPS Technician
I have a friend with an 11 yr old child w/ multiple disabilities. She was born missing part of her brain. She is 70 lbs and about 5 feet tall. She had spinal surgery in May which has increased her height and now her mom says that her shoulder is rubbing the plastic piece where you thread the car's seat belt. She is in a Frontier and harnessed but needing something bigger. Mom feels that she needs to stay harnessed due to seizures and not having enough support to sit for long periods of time in the car.

What would you suggest?

ADS

AustinMusic

...her mom says that her shoulder is rubbing the plastic piece where you thread the car's seat belt.

I think the first question to ask is whether the headrest of the Frontier is in the correct position. If the belt positioning guides are rubbing against the child’s shoulders it could need moving up one notch/click. I have no experience of using the Frontier however many here on the forum do and may be able to offer better advice.

If the seat is simply outgrown, then a special needs seat is probably the only solution if the child needs to remain harnessed (the Frontier has high harness slots versus many other seats). While there are many possible options, seats classified as special needs devices tend to be very expensive although insurance may cover the costs.

If the Frontier does prove unsuitable, the first option is another harnessed seat. These include:

Merritt Manufacturing

Roosevelt – Forward facing harnessed seat which caters for children from 35 to 115 pounds and up to 62” tall.

Snugseat

Traveller Plus – Very similar to the former Britax Husky/Regent. Forward facing, harnesses to 105lbs.

Columbia Medical

2000 Therapedic™ IPS Car Seat - Forward facing harnessed seat to 102lbs. Support and positioning accessories available.