Alternative to the "Upside-Down High Chair" at restaurants...!?!?

M

moon47usaco

4719061218_1c2cc56cab_b.jpg

I am an industrial design student in Denver Colorado researching a product to replace the dreaded upside-down high chair solution for taking the infant car seat carrier into the restaurant.

The sponsoring company already makes a "sling" device that holds the carrier. I have a strong opinion that this product could use some redesign.

Please post any opinions you have about the subject... !!

Please continue reading the next post for questions i have about existing products, and then post replies about that if you are interested... =]

Thank you,

R

ADS

vonfirmath

I have put the baby's carrier once in the sling. But really? They only NEED to be in the carrier for a very small bit of time. I've never used an upside down high chair. (why is it dreaded?) I've put the carrier on the seat next to me or on the floor at my feet (I was next to a wall so baby was not in danger of being tread upon.) As soon as they sit up, they go in a high chair (when they will stay there) or my lap otherwise.

LISmama810

Admin - CPS Technician
My understanding is that the upside-down high chair is extremely dangerous. When upside-down, it's wider at the top, making it an easy tip hazard, especially with the weight of the baby and a carrier on it. I have seen the slings but haven't used them, nor have I seen them often enough to really analyze them.

On the few occasions I had a baby in an infant seat at a restaurant, I'd set the infant seat next to me on a bench, or possibly on the floor if we were off in a corner or something where it wouldn't be stepped on. More often, I'd wear them in a sling/carrier on my front or I'd trade off holding with my husband.

jjordan

We've used one of the sling-thingies only once, and it was when our oldest was about 2 weeks old. So, over 7 years ago. I don't remember enough about it to have an opinion at this point!