Thinking about getting CPS certification

Lillian

I was bragging to my husband about how I just installed my Marathon with no sweat or blood! LOL! I usually cut my hand on the seat belt at some point, hense the blood! Anyway, he told me I should get certified to be a CPS. I had never really thought about it, but I know I would enjoy it! So, I read up on it and saw that I have to take a course and some tests. Are they difficult? I dont want to go through the whole course just to have to take it over b/c I didnt know what I was doing! Also, what happens once I am certified? Can I start to work with SafeKids? I am guessing they dont get paid, right? I thought it was volounteer work.

Also, to the techs on here, what all do you do? Do you install seats with SafeKids? Do you do talks or anything else? I said if all else faisl, i would love to have it just so when someone says "Well, how do you knwo whats better/safer?" I can say "I am a certified carseat tech!" :D (yes, i am such a dork!)

ADS

CRS

Senior Community Member
So, I read up on it and saw that I have to take a course and some tests. Are they difficult? I dont want to go through the whole course just to have to take it over b/c I didnt know what I was doing!

No, the tests aren't really super hard or anything. But hey, even if you did go and failed obviously you'd learn more then you did before and if you fail, it's a good thing (means you aren't ready) but I can't really see many people failing to be honest.

Also, what happens once I am certified? Can I start to work with SafeKids? I am guessing they dont get paid, right? I thought it was volounteer work.
Also, to the techs on here, what all do you do? Do you install seats with SafeKids? Do you do talks or anything else?