reporting "techs" that give bad advice?

t.tewks09

Over the years, I've had some of my own bad experiences and have heard many more stories. Just heard one today again, which provoked this post. Is there any kind of accountability system for technicians or any way the public can report a "tech" that is giving out dangerous advice? I've experienced it in person (sent my child's great grandparents to a carseat check, the "tech" told them my then 18 month old was too old/big to rear face and turned his seat FFing), online (on a facebook group in which I was hounded for giving out ERF advice, the very same information that I've learned and gotten from this lovely forum), have had to correct someone that claimed to be a "tech" giving out old, incorrect information (she later admitted she was not current with certification, but still using the label), and heard several stories now from other people that were told inaccurate and downright dangerous information. Today it is someone on facebook posting a picture of the seat they were given by the health department in which the child CLEARLY does not fit (too tall), but the person said it was okay to use.

The "tech" I had a personal experience with can be searched and found on NHTSA website. If she's "recognized" or certified? I'm wondering if she also is held accountable to being current? I know there are probably a lot of outdated "techs" that took the class just once, didn't take it seriously and keep on doing checks (such as at police stations, fire stations, etc) without re-certifying themselves. But the "techs" at the local health departments host and advertise carseat checks, and I'm very seriously concerned that I am likely not the only person they have given incorrect information to.

Thank you in advance for any help or advice. :)

ADS

Baylor

An 18 month ff is not what the NHTSA recommends but it is legal. So if the techs are working in the law I can not see how you can report them.