Question Need reccomendations for a convertible to booster seat

U

Unregistered

Hello,

My daughter is one year old. She is about to outgrow our infant seat ( about 22lbs, 30ish inches).

I would like to buy a convertible seat that will work long-term, so I do not have to buy another car seat if possible.

I drive a Hyundai Sonata so size is also a concern for me as even with the infant seat ( Graco 35) installed now, the passenger seat is lacking leg room for taller riders.

This is my first time buying a car seat like this - I really am not sure what to look for so any advice is appreciated.

Thank you.

ADS

thtr4me

I would stick with a convertible seat that will allow your DD to RF as long as possible. Car seats that do all three (RF, FF, and booster) tend to do one of the three poorly, usually the booster phase. A seat with higher harness heights both RFing and FFing will get you a lot of bang for your buck and be usable for many years My 7yo still fits in many convertible seats FFing, and still fits in a few convertibles RFing by height or weight, but not both in any seat. Britax convertibles fit well in smaller cars RFing. Other good seats to take a look at would be Graco Size4Me70, and possibly a Radian with an angle adjuster. There are quite a few other great options as well, but the car seat brand name function in my brain is just not working at the moment. I am sure someone else will chime in with some other great recommendations as well.

CTPDMom

Ambassador - CPS Technician
Hi and welcome to car-seat.org!

Thtr4me is right, your best bet will be a convertible followed by a booster because those types of 3-in-1 seats do all 3 but none of them really well, generally.

What is your max budget? If you want that to include the eventual cost of a booster as well, please let us know!