I'm debating on buying a new car. Suggestions?

Mae

I currently have a 2004 Pontiac Grand Am. It's just slowly biting the dust, in many areas. ;)

Preface: I'm a college student, so I'm not looking at a Lincoln or anything. :eek: Not too pricey. Perhaps under 20K? 22K? I'd be buying new from the dealer. Obviously it must be safe and preferably it gets along with car seats. :p I have a RF Radian, too ...

I have strong connections with Ford, so I would really prefer a Ford. Four door is about the only requirement. Oh, and good gas mileage. The Hybrid ones are nice in theory. I love the Ford stereo systems as well, so that's drawing me in too.

Maybe the newer Ford Focus? Ford Fusion (Hybrid)? What's out there from Ford that is safe and car seat friendly? Or just in general, what's a good car?

ADS

cantabdad

If you really want to stick with Ford, the Focus was listed as a "Top Safety Pick" by IIHS, starts around $16K, and gets about 27 city / 38 highway MPG. For a little more money you can get a hatchback version. Sounds like a pretty good combination, though I have never driven one.

There is an online series called "Carseat Check" that looks at how easy it is to install carseats in various new cars; the Focus did OK but not perfect:
http://blogs.cars.com/kickingtires/2011/11/2012-ford-focus-sedan-car-seat-check-.html

It's hard to tell how much space you might need -- do you have more than one child? Carry lots of equipment? You may be fine in a smaller car, but the Escape is also nice if you want the flexibility to carry more kids & their stuff (or if you do outdoorsy activities with lots of gear).

Mae

Good to know! I don't have kids of my own; I nanny two kids. Not too outdoorsy where I would need room for a lot of stuff. My biggest concern, really, is just the installing of car seats! LOL.

Good to know that the Focus was a top safety pick! Are there any websites in particular to look at regarding safety stats?

T4K