Question 5 Point Harness vs. Safety Cushion

Cookie Pants

Ok CPS techs, here's one for ya! What is the going consensus on children's car seats with safety cushions (ie: Cybex Pallas 2 Fix or Juno Fix) versus typical 5 point safety harnesses for carseats. I know children should obviously be rfing as long as possible but still there are those weird percentile groups in 3 and 4 year olds that surprise you. Mainly this is a hypothetical question targeted for those older children as to what is safer and if this really is a big development in carseat safety.

ADS

ctbcleveland

I am a tech but had to look up the names of the two seats you referenced. These are basically shield boosters - I didn't catch that from the description of "safety cushions".

There is only one shield booster currently being sold in the United States. There are people here using it (made by Kidde) and many threads on the topic.

I personally think the product being offered here in the states is not a good choice for most families. The weight limit on the shield is only 40 lbs. I think it would be a nice step in between a harnessed seat and a booster, but it should start at 40 lbs and not end at 40 lbs.

Britax has recently posted some interesting videos on the topic. While Britax is a clearly a biased source, it confirms my worries on this product. For a smaller user, there isn't enough protection to keep the child in the vehicle in the event of a rollover.

Do I think there are some limited situations where it might be an ok choice? Maybe a child who recentl had surgery that makes this a better choice than a 5 point harness.

I can't imagine the extreme percetiles mattering much. A very tall, heavy younger child would most likely still fit in an appropriate harnessed seat.