What age did your kid start buckling self?

sb518

At what age was your child able to climb in their seat and buckle themselves without assistance? I am counting down the days!!!

ADS

flutie128

My DD is 4.5 and just started buckling everything by herself. She has been able to buckle/unbuckle the chest clip for a year or so. She rides in a Nautilus with the original buckle and a Frontier 85.

EmmaGrace'sMom

I started training DD1 at 3.5, when I found out I was preggo. By the time she was 4 she could buckle herself completely. She was in a FR and XTSL. Occasionally I had to untwist something or tell her to move her chest clip up. I always did a visual check that nothing was twisted and her chest clip was in the correct spot. We started booster training at 5 and she was mostly able to buckle the booster, by 6 she could always buckle.

Her fine motor skills have always been very good, she just enjoyed fine motor activities.

kathysr98

Dd could buckle her XTSL by 4y7m, but rarely does so. I think many times its because she's tired or just doesn't want to do it.

agave

My 4 1/2 yr old will get in her frontier straps and do the chest clip, she can do the crotch buckle but has no motivation. I think she can buckle in a booster but she hasn't had many rides.

My 3 yr old needs help getting the straps on her XTSL and is very prone to twisting them, she is highly motivated to buckle herself but I have to loosen the harness a lot, she also wants to tighten it herself. I'm sure she'll do better when I let her FF and stick her in a Frontier.

aeormsby

DD was probably 3. DS just turned 5 and will sometimes buckle himself in (he can, he just won't). But I think the Frontier his harder for kids than the Marathon, DD was able to buckle the MA and when we switched her to the FR it took her a while to figure that one out.

Brianna