should I switch 5 yo to HBB?

rverrone11

I need to get a 3 across in our Jetta beginning in April. My older daughter will be 5.5 years old then. I think she could sit properly in a booster because she is a cautious child and listens when it comes to things like safety. I'm a bit nervous though because we go on quite a few long road trips each year. We just got back from going from California to NJ to Arkansas to Arizona and then home to NV. one stretch was about 30 hours in the car with a few short stops.

Anyway, I can't seem to figure out a good 3 across in our Jetta, and I've been researching and trying car seats for the past 3 or 4 months. it's not easy because we live over 3 hours from the nearest Wal-Mart/BRU/baby store. I've been ordering and returning online.

The combination seats are all too wide except maybe the Harmony Defender, but it sounds like the crotch strap will be too short for my daughter. I could get a Radian for her but she won't last very long in it. I could use the radian down the line for baby #3, and then get a HBB for my older daughter at that time.

what would you do? HBB now or Radian for another year?

Last edited:
ADS

T4K

What ate the other kids' ages and sizes? What are they riding in now?

I would recommend keeping everyone harnessed as long as possible for a tight three across.

rverrone11

What ate the other kids' ages and sizes? What are they riding in now?

I would recommend keeping everyone harnessed as long as possible for a tight three across.

Baby 3 Is due in April. Still searching for a seat for baby, hoping a Coccoro will work but not positive because we tried it already and couldn't get a good install.

DD2-- will be almost 3 when baby arrives and will be rear facing behind driver in a Radian xtsl at that point (My older DD' s current seat). currently 38" and 30 lbs with a 12.5" torso.

arly1983