How my well woman exam turned into a seat check

msg221

I had a well woman exam today. Well, I was supposed to anyway. I went to the appointment and as I was going over everything in the file to update it if need be, I noticed that my last exam was December 2nd of last year, meaning if I had this appt today, my insurance would not cover it since it has been less than a year since my last appt. I confirmed with the woman at the front, and so I had to reschedule my appointment for two weeks from today.

While I was in the waiting room, I noticed an older woman sitting with a newborn baby in a car seat. As I was waiting to get on the elevator, she was there too and I noticed how loose the harness was on the baby and that the chest clip was on her belly. When we got outside, I decided to go ahead and nicely point out that she might want to tighten the harness on the baby and made sure to let her know that I was a tech. She was very receptive and when she heard I was a tech, she got all excited and asked if I would take a look at the base in her car because she didn't think it was installed correctly. I told her sure, and when I checked it, sure enough, it was sliding all over the back seat! She said the baby's father installed it but it was like he just routed it through the belt path and then just buckled it in! (It was some sort of rear adjust SR) As I was showing the grandmother how to install the base, this young woman walked by and gave me an odd look. It turned out to be the mother of the baby and that is probably why she was giving me a look as if to say "who the heck are you and why are you in my mom's car?" Her mom explained that I was a tech and was helping her to install the base and that "she knew it wasn't in there right!" The baby's mother was also very receptive and I went over it all with her showing her everything, from making sure the angle was correct for her noob, where the chest clip should be, and how to test for snugness in the harness. Grandma t