What did you pay/do you charge for a course?

Pixelated

Moderator - CPST Instructor
Just curious. When I certified as a tech I paid $50 for the course.

Teaching it myself I charged $85 when it was in town and I had a free classroom location. If I have to travel all expenses are factored in, but I like to keep it under $200 definitely, preferably more like $150.

The above were both in Canada where there is very little public funding for this type of thing and techs are either doing it out of their own pocket, or through their work on a very piece-meal basis (a public health nurse here, a fire fighter there, someone at a community resource organization, for example).

I realize this likely varies greatly depending on regions, and coalitions, and public/private funding, but I'm curious.

And while we're at it, what would your cut-off have been if you were paying for it out of pocket?

ADS

amyd

I didn't pay anything when I took my course. Now, I'm working for the organization that sponsors the courses in my area. We have never charged a participant for a course and we provide lunches, etc as well. The last course we sponsored (2 weeks ago), we paid the instructor who came $1500. This didn't include manuals or the CPSAC fee.

ETA. I just realized that you had listed your charge as per participant. We pay the same regardless of numbers (except for the CPSAC fee, of course). The most recent course was for 5 participants.

tiggercat

It was a while ago, but I paid a minimal fee that probably just covered manual/certificate. Not much, anyway.
My coalition charges $75 (just raised from $50 to cover increased costs of manual and certificate).
I am not sure what my cut off would have been, probably not more than $100. I, uh, didn't intend to do much with my certification, just wanted the information/knowledge.

Sent from my iPod touch using Car-Seat.Org

smackeen

I paid $75 in June, and that involved the instructors coming over and staying two nights.