Center latch position 2007 mdx

D

Dansf

Hello,

This is my first time posting so thanks for all your advice and help. I currently have a 2007 Acura MDX and we recently had our third child. I am trying to install our Graco Snugride (2007 - expires at the end of this year) in the center position. I am trying to install our Britax Blvd in the passenger rear (using belt as child is 40lbs) and a Graco full booster in the drivers rear for my 5 year old. The problem I am running into is that the center latch positions are off center in the MDX (noted in many posts) and this makes it impossible to use the other car seats. If I use the shoulder belt - I cannot get the base tight enough. The solution I have come up with is to use the inner latch from the passenger rear spot and the standard center latch connector. Connecting this way, I have all seats secured very tightly and no seat is connected to two latches etc. my concern is that I cannot find any verification that using these two latch connections is approved? I have read that as long as the two connections are more than 11" and less than 20" apart you are ok (which is the case now) - but want to triple check.

Thanks very much for your help.

ADS

wendytthomas

Admin - CPST Instructor
Staff member
Welcome. I'm a little confused here. You have five anchors back there. From passenger to driver side they go:

A_____A/B_____B C_____C

So you MUST use that inner passenger side one for the center LATCH. There's no other option. That's the second one for the middle.

Did you mean you were using the inner one from the driver's side? If so, no, that's not allowed. You can see from my diagram, they're not connected to one another.

Your Snugride is good until December 2013. It should say that under the feet, next to the locking clip.

Are you locking the belt if you try with the seatbelt? Or using the locking clip? You have locking belts, so you should only need the locking clip if it tips.

Wendy

TechnoGranola