Unsolicited car seat advice - do you? don't you?

Do you give unsolicited car seat advice?

• Total voters

CRS

Senior Community Member
If you see someone doing something that isn't quite safe i.e. not tightening the harness enough, maybe wrong belt path for the seatbelt, maybe the handle is up - stuff like that. Do you say something? Or do you leave it, since they never asked you for advice in the first place. And I'm asking, as if you have NEVER met the person, don't know who they are or don't know them very well.

ADS

bbartlettnfld

I haven't voted yet... Reason is I used too all the time, I would introduce myself, tell them I was a tech with our local CS action group and let them know they had some misuse issues.

I stopped doing it, when it just seemed like that was all I was doing whenever I was out... It was too depressing..

BethAnn

Erika Ruth

My community is pretty responsive. So, I say something gentle, like, oh, I have heard.... Such and such isn't such a good idea. Do you know what your manual says? (mostly we get LATCH and BELT here).

Erika

CDNTech

Senior Community Member
I generally say something when it's really bad. I introduce myself as a tech and say something about the hazards of the job and my needing to say something. ;) :D People respond really well and are generally really appreciative... I've never had someone get upset at me for correcting a misuse.

Morganthe

No, I don't .... but I didn't mark the poll because the "none of my business" was on there. Honestly, it's not my business, but I wouldn't mind it. I've come to the conclusion that it's not safe or appreciated for me to stick my neck out for the locals.

The responses from parents I've received the few times here ranged from indifference to absolute hostility. I'm not a tech, so I don't even have that going for me.